Sri Lankan Egglicious Curry – for Dad

Now I have met a lot of people who don’t like some foods – “yeww fish – it stinks”, “urgh beef last time I had it, it was still bleeding” – my favourite way to have steak actually but that’s the kind of things I’ve heard people say. I have stopped eating as much meat as I used to. Mainly for the reason that the quality is not always guaranteed in Sri Lanka…transportation and storage issues in the climate and inability to keep the meat fresh (electricity cuts causes meat to thaw and refreeze for example), Plus local beef tends to be chewy and tough. I avoid eating it unless it is in a 5* star hotel that guarantees it is imported Australian tenderloin. Chicken less so although it is thawed and frozen numerous times in most shops (not just during electricity cuts!) so those with a less strong stomach than myself may be unwell. We also have had a few cases of Mad Cow Disease up North too which is troubling.

Fish and seafood is ok, providing it is fresh – buy from the market when the boats come in. However, I find myself mainly eating vegetarian (except for chicken, prawns, paraw and seer fish….the latter 2 being my weaknesses but I only buy from the market). If I was back in Holland this would all change – I would be chomping down a plate of carpaccio (raw sliced beef with olive oil, rocket and Parmesan – jeez I’m drooling), eating filet americain sandwiches (raw minced spiced beef with onions, capers and chili), eating blue steak (under cooked and bloody) and fish aplenty…oh sole…”tong” and mussles – I miss those foods here (not even to going to mention the cheese). Still, no mutton, lamb, pork (although I will have a slice of bacon if it is very crispy and has no fat on it) and eating offal is a crime – I leave the room if somebody eats it. Have to draw the line somewhere. I’m also not keen on gamey meat – rabbit, deer, goose, pheasant etc. So I guess I am a bit choosy.

Well this dish is extremely simple and tasty. I like it with fresh bread to dip in the gravy but you can also eat it with rice or even a roti.

Egg Curry Ingredients (for four):

  •  Eggs (obviously) – 1 or 2 per person depending how hungry your guests are. I can easily eat 2.
  • 2 biggish onions (chopped roughly)
  • 4 cloves of garlic (sliced)
  • 3 pods of cardamon (crushed)
  • 2 small sticks of cinnamon or half a tsp of cinnamon powder (the powder is more potent than the fresh sticks so be careful)
  • A sprig of curry leaves (if available…without the woody bit) or use some bay leaves or a pinch (and I mean a small pinch of unroasted curry powder…this dish is not meant to be hot)
  • 1 tbsp of turmeric (or more – don’t skimp on this – it’s not hot and tastes delicious)
  • 1 or 2 green chilies chopped (without seeds and go easy on the chili flakes if you use both)
  • 2 tsps of butter or ghee
  • Salt, pepper & chili flakes to taste
  • 500ml of coconut milk (fresh is best, or from a tin if in Europe or elsewhere – actually I usually use Maggi powder which is also nice)

Method:

  1. Boil your eggs (5 or 6 minutes max as they will be immersed in the curry sauce afterwards). Then remove, shell and keep.
  2. Fry the garlic, curry leaves, chilies and crushed cardamon in the butter
  3. After about 1 or 2 minutes add the onions and one cup of water for a minute or two on high heat
  4. Then add the chopped tomatoes, chili flakes (omit this if using lots of fresh chili), pepper (to taste), turmeric and some salt.
  5. Leave this mixture to cook for a few minutes more and then add the coconut milk
  6. Turn down the heat…simmer for a while and at the last moment add the boiled eggs – now some people add these whole but I usually quarter them. Take off the heat and serve. The curry should be a gorgeous yellow colour. Taste and add more salt, pepper and chili if required.

I often have this for breakfast with bread or pol roti. The picture below shows one whole egg….some like to break it up in the gravy. Completely a personal choice – I cut mine first. Other egg currys I have seen online had a red gravy – this normally means more chili. I prefer mine this way:

Egg Curry

Egg Curry

Garlic, onions, a touch of chili and quite a lot of turmeric is key here. It is honestly one of my favourite dishes after pol sambol.

So to my vegetarian dad – try it out! Love you x

 

1 Comment

Filed under Healthy food, Sri Lankan food & recipes, Vegetarian recipes

One response to “Sri Lankan Egglicious Curry – for Dad

  1. Pingback: Peter Kuruvita’s Egg Rolls & Why Eggs are So Good | ankie renique's blog

Leave a Reply

