Tasty Tortilla – when you have run out of ingredients at home.

Firstly I must apologise – my New Years resolution to blog more has been thwarted somewhat initially by work and then being a bit poorly for a while. Good news is I am feeling much better and getting ready to blog more. Some big changes have happened recently (nothing bad…just changes in lifestyle and finances – which I feel will eventually work out for the better).

Most of you will know of my adoration of eggs. Well I was actually going to post a Sri Lankan Egg curry recipe today but my other half always adds ingredients when I’m not looking so I need him to write them down for me.

Eggs are great – in the past they were accused of giving you high cholesterol but a few years of research has disproved this. There are hundreds of links on the web such as this recent one . For more info just Google eggs & cholesterol.

ANYWAY – I found myself at a loss the other day when thinking what to make for dinner – it was 9pm – I had potatoes, eggs and onions and salad ingredients but we were starving and really didn’t want a take-away.

So I did this on a complete whim:

I made the tastiest Spanish Tortilla (bit oily but you can tone this down)….so here goes:

Ingredients for 2:

  • Half a pint of olive or vegetable oil
  • 4 large potatoes, peeled and sliced
  • 1 and a half large Bombay onions sliced (kept one half for a small salsa)
  • 3 or 4 eggs
  • Salt and pepper

Ingredients for Salsa:

  • Half of the Bombay onion (finely chopped)
  • One large juicy tomato (finely chopped)
  • Lime juice as required
  • Finely chopped green chili or red chili flakes (to taste)
  • Salt & Pepper

And just mix and cool until required.

Method for Tortilla:

  1. Heat all the oil in a medium-size non-stick pan.
  2. Stir in the potato, onion and a some salt (I made sure the oil covered the mixture – diet – me?)
  3. Cover and cook on a very gentle fire until the potatoes are done (about 20 to 30 minutes).
  4. Beat the eggs and add some salt and pepper as per your taste.
  5. Drain the oil out of the pan with the potatoes and onions until there is just enough to fry at a higher heat. (I keep the oil for frying chips or battered prawns later – yummy).
  6. Heat the pan again until it starts sizzling a bit and add the egg mixture.
  7. Cook for 2 or 3 minutes.
  8. Cover the pan with a plate and turn the tortilla. Slide it back into the pan and cook for a further 5 minutes taking care not to burn it.

Serve in wedges with the tomato salsa. A superb dish when you are waiting for your salary to arrive so you can buy expensive food again but actually why should you? 🙂

Spanish Tortilla

Spanish Tortilla

 

Tomato salsa (as spicy as you want!)

Tomato salsa (as spicy as you want!)

So I hope you enjoy my pauper recipe. I have so much up my sleeve about Sri Lanka, why I love it, its people, its food and a multitude of other recipes (plus the occasional moan).

I am also looking for meaty Sri Lankan recipes to try out – not being much of a pork or beef eater here (although I am not vegetarian), if any of you have tips about where to get good beef or pork in Sri Lanka please let me know. Mutton, lamb and wild boar is out – sorry about that folks! 😉

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Snacks, Vegetarian recipes

One response to “Tasty Tortilla – when you have run out of ingredients at home.

  1. Pingback: Peter Kuruvita’s Egg Rolls & Why Eggs are So Good | ankie renique's blog

Leave a Reply

