Tuna salad with a kick

People ask me if I ever get home-sick living in Sri Lanka….to be honest no not really. I get specific people-sick (like missing my mum, my dad and some of my best friends) and food-sick (craving for something that Sri Lanka does not have or is difficult to find – I will blog about this quite extensively in weeks to come!) but I don’t miss “my home”.

I woke up early because I was too hot and it’s been a blindingly hot day. Lovely and sunny…only I started getting food-sick at lunchtime. I was craving a salad. Something fresh, cool and crunchy to enjoy. Now there are plenty of salads available in restauarants all over Sri Lanka but I have yet to find something to rival a decent salad ordered in the UK or Holland. A side salad in most restaurants here will consist of a coleslaw-like concoction with pineapple or a some drab lettuce leaves that have seen better days topped by over-ripe tomatoes, cucumber and too much onion. There is a real gap in the market for a decent salad place, there may be some in Colombo (let me know if you know of any) but not much outside of the capital at all.

So I decided to make my own tuna salad – all the ingredients are easily available here and as an added plus my Sri Lankan friends love it too!

Tuna salad with a kick

Ingredients (to serve 2 at most…I easily gobble up the whole thing by myself):

  • 1 can of good quality tuna steak (white meat preferred – you can choose in oil or brine, personally I prefer in oil as mayonnaise is expensive in Sri Lanka and you will need less if the fish is already oily)
  • 1 medium size red onion (finely chopped)
  • 1 small stick of celery (very finely chopped)
  • 1 small tomato (very finely chopped)
  • 1 large tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1 green chilli (halved, de-seeded and very finely chopped – OPTIONAL)
  • half a tsp of red chilli powder (or less depending on how hot you like it or leave out all together)
  • half a tsp of black pepper
  • pinch of  salt

Method:

Drain the tuna and mix in a bowl with a fork until the fish steak is in pieces. All all the other ingredients and mix well. Chill in the fridge for an hour before using.

You can eat this as it comes on a bed of fresh lettuce leaves. Serve it as bites or canapés on crackers or toasted pitta breads. But today as I was feeling food-sick I went for the full sandwich option on fresh brown bread (which isn’t easy to find in Sri Lanka but my local supermarket sells home-made brown bread due to high demand from the expats!!). It hit the spot.

Tuna salad with a kick

Tuna salad with a kick

3 Comments

Filed under Fish recipes, Healthy food, Salad recipes, Sandwiches, Sri Lankan life

3 responses to “Tuna salad with a kick

  1. asanthika

    Hey! where did you get the bread roll? looks ace!

    • Hello honey – from a little bakery called Crumbs on the Galle Road just south of Bentota (opposite Escoffier restaurant). They make a lot of bread for the 5 & 4 star hotels in the area. 🙂 x

  2. Pingback: ankie renique's blog

Leave a Reply

